Forget WiFi Network

Many times “forgetting” a WiFi network and reconnecting will fix connection issues. Forgetting a network just resets the information the Computers has like password, ip address, and other settings.

Prerequisites: Experience with connecting/disconnecting from WiFi Networks

Difficulty Level: Member | Nerd | Platypus

Estimated Time: 5 minutes

Expected Outcome: Connected to your desired Network and surfing the Interwebs

Tools Required: Device, WiFi, WiFi password, Nerves of Steel

For Mac OS Computers

  1. Open System Preferences
  2. Click Network, then Advanced…
  3. Select a network from the list and click the “-” icon just below the list to forget/remove it

Follow along with the images below for more details:

null

Before you head in to forget any networks, you can opt to change the settings for automatically joining a given network, and to have your Mac ask to join new networks.

null

Select a network you’d like to forget and click the “-” icon as shown below. You can select multiple networks by holding the command key while clicking and batch the process .

If for some reason you want to forget all networks, pressing cmd + A works to select all followed by clicking the – button.

null

To assign network priority, drag the most important one(s) to the top of the list.