Keeping a Mac Unlocked after user puts the machine to sleep

Mac OS will, by default, require a password after the machine sleeps/when it is closed. This setting change will allow for the machine to stay unlocked unless there is a full system reboot or something similar.

Prerequisites: Basic knowledge of Mac OS and navigating Mac settings

Difficulty Level: Member, Nerd

Estimated Time: < 5 minutes

Expected Outcome: System will stay unlocked for a user unless there is a system reboot or manual logout of the profile

Tools Required: Machine that runs Mac OS

 

Steps to Perform 

  1. Open system settings
    Screen Shot 2019-11-16 at 2.04.18 PM
  2. Select “Security & Privacy”
    Screen Shot 2019-11-16 at 2.04.18 PM-1
  3. Click the lock in the bottom left corner
    Screen Shot 2019-11-16 at 2.11.57 PM
  4. Enter an administrator’s password
    unnamed
  5. Deselect the option that says “Require password”
    unnamed (1)
  6. Re-select the lock to deauthenticate further changes to the system